Provost Awards

Filter by type and date

Provost Awards

Friday 8th August, 2014

Nominations are now being sought for the 2014 Stirling Provost Awards.

The awards are presented to individuals or organisations who have made significant contributions to local communities, or who have achieved national recognition in their field, over the last 24 months.

The Stirling Provost Awards will be hosted by Provost Mike Robbins at the Great Hall at Stirling Castle on Friday 7th November.

Provost Robbins said: "There are so many talented individuals living and working in the Stirling area, and often their hard work goes unnoticed or unrewarded. It's so important to recognise these people and to encourage others to replicate their efforts.

"This is a fantastic opportunity and I'd like to encourage people to come forward now and nominate worthy individuals and organisations so that we can formally recognise their successes."

The award categories are:

Academic – open to members of the Higher or Further Educational establishments within the Stirling Council area who have achieved success or made a substantial contribution to research in their chosen field.

Arts and Culture – open to residents of the Stirling Council area who work in the arts (voluntarily or professionally) and have attained Scottish, British or higher recognition in their field for undertaking imaginative work or demonstrating good practice.

Business – open to individuals in both large and small businesses who have made substantial contribution to the Stirling Council area.

Community – open to residents of the Stirling Council area who have made a significant contribution to the local community.

International Links – open to individuals and groups who live or are active in the Stirling Council area, and who have made a contribution at an international level to the role or reputation of the area or to the role of European or international organisations in the area.

Sport – open to residents of the Stirling Council area or (including those based in Stirling) who have gained Scottish, British or higher recognition in sport.

Volunteer Sector – open to voluntary sector workers in the Stirling Council area who have made a substantial contribution in their field.

Special Achievement – for individuals whose civic contribution is recognised in any of the aforementioned categories.

In addition, all nominations will be considered for the William "Citizen" Jaffray Award that recognises outstanding citizenship.

Entries must be submitted by Friday 5th September by email: or post: Mary Bright, PA to the Provost, Stirling Council, Old Viewforth, Stirling, FK8 2ET.

Download the form

Rate this page

Related Pages