Bullying and harassment

We are committed to providing a safe,supportive environment for all people in our educational establishments. Schools can make a difference through their commitment to tackling the issues of bullying.

Bullying has four common features...

  • it is deliberate, hurtful behaviour
  • it can be aggressive and violent
  • it is repeated
  • it is difficult for those being bullied to defend themselves

There are different types of bullying...

  • physical: pushing, kicking, punching, hitting or any use of or threatened use of physical violence
  • verbal: name calling, sarcasm, spreading rumours, teasing, misuse of messaging systems, making derogatory comments about someone either written or verbal
  • emotional: excluding, being deliberately unfriendly, tormenting, racial taunts, threatening or rude gestures
  • menacing: applying undue pressure to persuade victim to comply with demands

See also:

In our schools...

We have developed a positive behaviour and bullying policy.  As part of this policy our schools are developing a restorative approach to resolving conflict.  This explains more about this approach and explains how you can support your child.

For more information visit BBC Understanding Bullying and Bullying Online.

Rate this page