Conservation Area Plans (Adopted 2014)

Notice of Cancellation & Re-Designation of Deanston Conservation Area Planning (Listed Buildings & Conservation Areas) (Scotland) Act 1997
The existing Deanston Conservation Area boundary was designated in 1976, it includes the whole of the planned village of Deanston, including the former mill infrastructure and Deanston House and its grounds. Since designation, a number of modern housing developments have been constructed within the Conservation Area at; Deanston Gardens, Grierson Drive and part of Leny Road.
An appraisal of the character of the Deanston Conservation Area was undertaken in 2014. The appraisal recommended that the Conservation Area boundary be reviewed to potentially exclude areas of modern development. It is now proposed to amend the boundary to exclude these areas so that the boundaries of the new designated Deanston Conservation Area more accurately reflect the extent of the area of architectural or historic interest.
The main effects of designation of a Conservation Area are that it is not possible to demolish buildings, carry out works to trees, or undertake development without prior notification or consent from Stirling Council as Planning Authority. In assessing development proposals within Conservation Areas, Stirling Council will give special consideration to the preservation or enhancement of the character or appearance of the area.


Under sections 61 and 62 of the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) (Scotland) Act 1997, notice is given of the cancellation of the existing Deanston Conservation Area (designated 1976) within the Stirling Council area and the simultaneous re-designation of the Deanston Conservation Area with alterations to the boundary as described below:

The original Conservation Area as designated in 1976 has been amended to exclude:

  • Deanston Gardens (all)
  • Grierson Drive (all)
  • Leny Road (No’s 30-48 evens)
  • Deanston Villa
  • The Bungalow

The Deanston Community Council, Local Ward Councillors and Local Community Groups have been have been consulted and have made no comment on the proposal.

Find below the individual plans (including the updated plan showing the Deanston Conservation Area) for the Conservation Areas in the Stirling Council area.

Ashfield. Balfron. Bannockburn.
Blairlogie. Bridge of Allan. Bridgehaugh, Stirling.
Bruce Street, Stirling. Buchlyvie. Cambusbarron, Stirling.
Cambuskenneth, Stirling. Carbeth (North & South). Deanston.
Doune. Drip Bridge, Stirling. Dunblane.
Fintry. Gargunnock. Killearn.
King's Park, Stirling. Kippen & Cauldhame. Park Place/Randolphfield, Stirling.
Randolph Road, Stirling. St. Ninian's' Stirling. Stirling Town & Royal Park, Stirling.
Thornhill. Torbrex, Stirling.

Last updated: Tuesday, January 26, 2021 2:58 PM